From cereal to vine

Vignobles Guillaume Guérin

A family heritage

Le Moulin de Rioucreux has been in my family since the 17th century. First dedicated to milling and polyculture, the windmill was destroyed in 1850 and the miller's house was transformed into a cellar. At the beginning of the 20th century, wooden tanks were replaced by concrete tanks. The cultivation of the vine the becomes the main crop.

My grandfather bought the vines of the Moulin des Blaisin 1982, in the Côtes de Bourg region. In 1985, my parents took over the vineyard, which grew from 10 to 18 hectares in ten years. In 1995, a more modern cellar with fibre vats replaced the old one. The concrete vat room is preserved, geese are raised for the sale of homemade foie gras.

The vineyard has been gradually restructured around 5 000 vines / ha (compared to 3 200 previously), with more qualitative rootstocks. The production of white wines is stopped, the reds are sold to the wine merchant and to private consumers. From the 2000's, weed control was limited, soils were partly worked by hand and diseases were treated with contact products, without anti-botrytis.

Vignobles Guillaume Guérin

From Blaye to Hawke's Bay

Vignobles Guillaume Guérin
Vignobles Guillaume Guérin

A comprehensive agricultural vision

After completing an IUT in General Agronomy and an Engineering School of Agricultural Works, I obtained a degree in oenology and went on to gain experience in wine-making: Institut français de la Vigne, Bordeaux merchant, cooperative cellar in Auvergne, vinification in Ribatejo in Portugal and then at Château Mouton Rotschild in 2009.

The following year, I went to Hawke's Bay in New Zealand, famous for its "Bordeaux Blends", blend of Merlot and Cabernets. After a tour of the South Island and a tasting of the Otago's Pinots noirs, I came back to follow 19 winegrowers in the middle of the harvest for a labotary in the Entre-deux-Mers region.

I met Jean Crampes from Château Gayon, a vineyard engaged in sustainable agriculture under the Terra Vitis label. I've work there for two years and a half, managing the wine cellar from vinification to bottling, focusing on the sale aspects. A great experience in a domain where the range of wines covers six wines for six differents appellations.

From earth to the glass

Vignobles Guillaume Guérin

A biological dynamics

I was preparing with my parents for the takeover of the vineyard in 2013. The transition to organic agriculture is quickly implemented: 10 hectares are committed to conversion in the summer. Three months later, we bought vines of a neighbour who had been organic for 30 years. On January 1st, 2014, I officially took over the vineyard.

From my experience here and elsewhere, I have learned that there are very different ways of making wine, more or less close to the vine and the consumer, that passion often makes the difference, and that only patience, in the vineyard as in the cellar, makes it possible to build sustainable things.

The conversion of the vineyard to organic agriculture is in line with our times. It is a global and forward-looking approach that brings us closer to our consumers every day. It has allowed us to create a better working environment in the vineyard, and to produce wines made from healthy grapes.

— Guillaume Guérin

Vignobles Guillaume Guérin

Where to taste our wines?
At L’Orléansa significant place of Bordeaux lifestyle founded in 1942 and located very close of the Grand-Théâtre of Bordeaux.
36 Allée d’Orléans, Bordeaux

See all places

Where to taste our wines?

Loading...
Notre histoire2018-01-29T18:39:03+00:00

Des céréales à la vigne

Vignobles Guillaume Guérin

Un patrimoine familial

Le Moulin de Rioucreux est dans ma famille depuis le XVIIe siècle. D’abord dédié à la meunerie et à la polyculture, le moulin à vent est détruit en 1850 et la maison du meunier transformée en chai. Au début du XXe siècle, les cuves en bois sont remplacées par des cuves béton. La culture de la vigne devient alors la culture principale.

En 1982, mon grand-père rachète les vignes du Moulin des Blais, en Côtes de Bourg. En 1985, mes parents reprennent le domaine, qui passe de 10 à 18 ha en dix ans. En 1995, un chai plus moderne avec cuves en fibres remplace l’ancien. La cuverie béton est conservée, des oies sont élevées pour la vente de foie gras maison.

Le vignoble est progressivement restructuré autour de 5000 pieds/ha (contre 3200 auparavant) avec des porte-greffes plus qualitatifs. La production de blancs est stoppée, les rouges sont vendus au négoce et aux particuliers. A partir des années 2000, le désherbage est limité, les sols travaillés en partie à la main et les maladies traitées au produit de contact, sans anti-botrytis.

Vignobles Guillaume Guérin

De Blaye à Hawke’s Bay

Vignobles Guillaume Guérin
Vignobles Guillaume Guérin

Une vision agricole globale

Après un IUT d’Agronomie Générale et une École d’Ingénieur des Travaux Agricoles, je décroche un diplôme d’œnologue et enchaîne les expériences viti-œno : Institut Français de la Vigne, négociant bordelais, cave coopérative en Auvergne, vinifications dans le Ribatejo au Portugal puis au Château Mouton Rothschild en 2009.

L’année suivante, je pars vinifier trois mois dans la Hawke’s Bay en Nouvelle-Zélande, célèbre pour ses « Bordeaux Blends », assemblages de Merlots et de Cabernets. Après un tour de l’Île du Sud et une dégustation des Pinots noirs d’Otago, je reviens suivre 19 viticulteurs en pleines vendanges pour un labo de l’Entre-deux-Mers.

Je rencontre à cette occasion Jean Crampes de Château Gayon, exploitation engagée en agriculture raisonnée sous le label Terra Vitis. J’y travaillerai deux ans et demi, gérant le chai des vinifications à l’embouteillage en lorgnant sur l’aspect commercial. Une belle expérience dans un domaine dont la gamme des vins couvre six cuvées et autant d’appellations.

De la terre au verre

Vignobles Guillaume Guérin

Une dynamique biologique

En 2013, je prépare avec mes parents la reprise du domaine. Le passage en agriculture biologique est acté rapidement : 10 hectares sont engagés en conversion dès l’été. Trois mois plus tard, nous rachetons les vignes d’un voisin en bio depuis 30 ans. Le 1er janvier 2014, je reprends officiellement l’exploitation.

Mon expérience, ici et ailleurs, m’a appris qu’il existait des manières très différentes de faire du vin, plus ou moins industrielles, plus ou moins proches de la vigne et du consommateur, que la passion faisait souvent la différence, et que seule la patience, à la vigne comme au chai, permettait de construire des choses durables.

La conversion du domaine en agriculture biologique s’inscrit dans notre époque. C’est une démarche globale et d’avenir, qui nous rapproche chaque jour un peu plus de nos consommateurs. Elle nous a permis de créer un meilleur environnement de travail à la vigne, et de produire des vins élaborés à partir de raisins sains.

— Guillaume Guérin

Vignobles Guillaume Guérin

Où déguster nos vins ?
A la brasserie L’Orléans, haut lieu historique de la vie bordelaise, fondée en 1942 et située à deux pas du Grand-Théâtre de Bordeaux…
36 Allée d’Orléans, Bordeaux

Voir tous les lieux >

Où déguster nos vins ?