Château Moulin de Rioucreux

Le vignoble du Blayais

Blaye Côtes de Bordeaux

The parcels of the Moulin de Rioucreux are located in the commune of Saint-Christoly-de-Blaye in the area of Saint-Savin. The vineyard covers 16 hectares of Bordeaux AOC (white, rosé) and Blaye Côtes de Bordeaux, with three types of terroirs: clayey, clay-limestone and sandy-clay. The vines are 15% white and 85% red.

For the white grappes, we work with 28-year-old Sauvignon gris and 4-year-old Sauvignon blanc vines. Château Moulin de Rioucreux's dry whites are very fruity wines, with citrus fruits, quite fat on the palate, atypical because of their balance between acidity and fat for maturing in vats.

In red, we work with Cabernet Sauvignon, Malbec and Merlot vines. The average age of the vines is 18 years, 55 years for the oldest vines. The reds produced are rather fruity, easy to combine with meals with friends or with an aperi0f. The soils can vary for the same parcels, from sandy to clay-limestone.

Le vignoble du Blayais

Château Moulin des Blais

Château Moulin des Blais
Château Moulin des Blais

Côtes de Bourg

The Côtes de Bourg appellation, located on the right bank of the Dordogne and Garonne rivers, 35 km north of Bordeaux (20 km by the river), extends over 15 communes and is nicknamed "La Petite Suisse Girondine" for its hillside topography.

The parcels of Château Moulin des Blais are located in the commune of Teuillac, near Bourg, 3 kilometres close to the Moulin de Rioucreux. This vineyard now has 12 hectares of vines in the Côtes de Bourg appellation. The vines are 4% white (Sauvignon gris) and 96% red (Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot) on clayey-silt to clayey-gravelly soils.

For red, we work with Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot vines that are on average 20 years old. The reds raised in vats are always fruity, but spicier and more concentrated in terms of tannins. The others are matured in 400-litre French oak barrels of medium heat, for a well- mingled oak note.

Our Methods in the vines

Les vendanges au Moulin de Rioucreux

Organic agriculture conversion

When I took over the vineyard, we already had the tools to limit the use of weedkillers. I gradually completed the equipment: a 70s decavaillonneuse recovered from an uncle, hoeing blades to work the soil around the feet, a wire brush, an intercept mower, etc.

We keep one row out of two grassed rows to maintain biodiversity and have soils that are more easily load-bearing. Our objective is not to systematically eliminate grass, which is logically more present in organic than in conventional, but to manage it as well as possible.

As soon as I set up, I had plots certified in organic agriculture on both appellations of Côtes. All the plots will are engaged in conversion since 2018, with the objective of having 100% of our plots organic by 2021.

Les vendanges au Moulin de Rioucreux

Where to taste our wines?
At La Grande Poste, an atypical and artistic restaurant located in the old post office of Bordeaux.
7 Rue du Palais Gallien, Bordeaux

See all places

Where to taste our wines?

Loading...
Nos terroirs2018-01-29T14:25:16+00:00

Château Moulin de Rioucreux

Le vignoble du Blayais

Blaye Côtes de Bordeaux

Les parcelles du Moulin de Rioucreux sont situées sur la commune de Saint-Christoly-de-Blaye dans le canton de Saint-Savin. Le domaine couvre 16 hectares sur les appellations Bordeaux (blanc, rosé) et Blaye Côtes de Bordeaux, avec trois types de terroirs : argileux, argilo- calcaires et argilo-sableux. L’encépagement est à 15% en blanc et 85% en rouge.

En blanc, nous travaillons des pieds de Sauvignon gris âgés de 28 ans et de Sauvignon blanc d’un âge moyen de 4 ans. Les blancs secs du Château Moulin de Rioucreux sont des vins très fruités, sur les agrumes, assez gras en bouche, un peu atypiques de par leur équilibre entre acidité et gras pour un élevage en cuve.

En rouge, nous travaillons des pieds de Cabernet Sauvignon, Malbec et Merlot. L’âge moyen des vignes est de 18 ans, 55 ans pour les pieds les plus anciens. Les rouges produits sont plutôt sur le fruit, faciles à marier lors des repas entre amis ou à l’apéritif. Les sols peuvent varier pour des même parcelles, de sableux à argilo-calcaires.

Le vignoble du Blayais

Château Moulin des Blais

Château Moulin des Blais
Château Moulin des Blais

Côtes de Bourg

Située sur la rive droite de la Dordogne et de la Garonne, à 35 km au nord de Bordeaux (20 km par le fleuve), l’appellation Côtes de Bourg s’étend sur 15 communes et est surnommée « La Petite Suisse Girondine » pour sa topographie en coteaux.

Les parcelles du Château Moulin des Blais sont situées sur la commune de Teuillac, dans le canton de Bourg, à 3 kilomètres à vol d’oiseau du Moulin de Rioucreux. Ce domaine compte aujourd’hui 12 hectares de vignes en appellation Côtes de Bourg. L’encépagement est à 4% en blanc (Sauvignon gris) et 96% en rouge (Cabernet Sauvignon et Merlot) sur des sols d’argileux-limoneux à argilo-graveleux.

En rouge, nous travaillons des pieds de Cabernet Sauvignon et de Merlot âgés de 20 ans en moyenne. Les rouges élevés en cuves sont toujours sur le fruit, mais plus épicés et plus concentrés au niveau des tanins. Les autres sont élevés dans des barriques de 400l de chêne français de chauffe moyenne, pour un boisé qui se fond bien.

Nos méthodes à la vigne

Les vendanges au Moulin de Rioucreux

La conversion en agriculture biologique

Quand j’ai repris l’exploitation, nous avions déjà les outils pour limiter l’usage des désherbants. J’ai complété l’équipement petit à petit : décavaillonneuse des années 70 récupérée chez un grand-oncle, lames bineuses pour travailler la terre autour des pieds, brosse à fil, tondeuse intercep, etc.

Nous gardons un rang sur deux enherbé pour maintenir une biodiversité et avoir des sols plus facilement porteurs. Notre objectif n’est pas d’éliminer systématiquement l’herbe, logiquement plus présente en bio qu’en conventionnel, mais de la gérer au mieux.

Dès mon installation, j’ai eu des parcelles certifiées en agriculture biologique sur les deux appellations de Côtes. Toutes les parcelles seront engagées en conversion en 2018, avec pour objectif d’avoir 100% de nos parcelles en bio à l’horizon 2021.

Les vendanges au Moulin de Rioucreux

Où déguster nos vins ?
Au restaurant de La Grande Poste, espace atypique et artistique ouvert dans les locaux Art déco de l’ancienne Poste principale de Bordeaux…
7 Rue du Palais Gallien, Bordeaux

Voir tous les lieux >

Où déguster nos vins ?